Committee on Economic Development and Capital Planning (CEDCP)

As the role of local government continues to evolve, the finance officer is frequently being put in the unfamiliar position of leading economic development projects. In addition, it is becoming increasingly important for governments to consider development issues as they prepare and execute their long-term capital plans. These trends have prompted the executive board to create the Committee on Economic Development and Capital Planning, whose mission is "to assist finance officers to become knowledgeable participants in planning, evaluation, and execution of community/economic development and capital issues through the drafting and promotion of policies, procedures, and best practices."

Members of the Committee

  • CHAIR: William H. Jones, City Administrator, City of Mequon, Mequon, WI
  • VICE-CHAIR: Laura Allen, Town Administrator, Town of Berlin, Berlin, MD
  • Sonia Andrews, Finance Manager, City of Peoria, Peoria, AZ
  • Laurie M. Brewer, Assistant City Manager, City of Georgetown, Georgetown, TX
  • Susan Cohen, Senior Manager, Finance and ECM, Regional Transportation District - FasTracks, Denver, CO
  • Shelley R. Coleman, CPA, Finance Director, City of Auburn, Auburn, WA
  • Mark Emanuelson, Finance Director, Village of Shorewood, Shorewood, WI
  • Donna Maria Gayden, City Administrator, City of Fairburn GA
  • Jason Greene, Financial Controls & Budget Manager, Miami-Dade Expressway Authority, Miami, FL
  • Shirley D. Hughes, CPFO, City Administrator, City of Liberty, Liberty, SC
  • Brandon Kauffman, Finance Director, City of Lincoln, Lincoln, NE
  • Rebecca Kidwell, Capital Budget Manager/Fiscal Manager, Howard County Government, Ellicott City, MD
  • Nicole Kreiser, Transit Manager, Wake County, Raleigh, NC
  • Steven R. Kreklow, Village Administrator, Village of Germantown, WI
  • Angel Mumma, Director of Finance, City of Dublin, Dublin, OH
  • Kimberly Olivares, Chief Performance Officer, City of Austin, Austin, TX
  • Diana Ramirez, Director, Economic Development & Strategic Investments, Travis County - Planning & Budget Office, Austin, TX
  • William Brent Robertson, County Administrator, County of Franklin, Rocky Mount, VA
  • Walter C. Rossmann, Assistant City Manager, City of Sunnyvale, Sunnyvale, CA
  • Mark Ruff, CFO, City of Minneapolis, Minneapolis, MN
  • Ari J. Sky, Chief Financial Officer, City of New Bedford, New Bedford, MA
  • Cheryl Spivey, CPA, Chief Financial Officer, City of Fayetteville, Fayetteville, NC
  • Linda G. Witkowski, Budget Manager, Waukesha County, Waukesha, WI


  • Richard J. Raphael, Principal, Long View Consulting, Fair Haven, NJ
  • Phoebe S. Selden, Senior Vice President, Acacia Financial Group, Chicago, IL
  • Ann Harrity Shawver, Owner/Consultant, Ann Harrity Shawver, CPA, PLLC, Roanoke, VA
  • Nancy L. Zielke, Senior Director, Alvarez & Marsal, Kansas City, MO


  • Michael A. Bryant, Management & Budget Director, County of Mecklenburg, Charlotte, NC
  • Merrill S. King, Finance Director, City of Minnetonka, Minnetonka, MN

GFOA Staff